Inside Politics

And now for the runners up: parliamentary secretaries

UPDATE: Laurie Hawn tweeted CBC News' Rosemary Barton to say he does indeed have a new job, as a member of the Treasury Board sub-committee on the Strategic and Operating Review. More details on that to come.

The Prime Minister's Office has released a new list of parliamentary secretaries, the MPs that answer questions or table documents in the House when ministers are unavailable. The position, which can also be a proving ground and a stepping stone to cabinet, as Alice Wong discovered last week, carries a bonus of $15,834, on top of the MP salary.

The current list of 28 parliamentary secretaries includes such new faces as Eve Adams (Veteran Affairs), recently elected in Mississauga-Brampton South; former ambassador to Afghanistan Chris Alexander (Defence), who took the formerly Liberal riding of Ajax-Pickering; and Kellie Leitch (HRDC and Labour), who defeated ousted Conservative cabinet minister Helena Geurgis in Simcoe-Grey.

New faces mean some departures, including Laurie Hawn, who was highly visible as the parliamentary secretary to the minister of defence, and Dave MacKenzie (Public Safety), among others (Brian Jean, Greg Kerr and Mark Warawa). But still to come are the committee chair positions, so some of these names may resurface in those key roles.

And the list contains some changes, most notably the elevation of Dean Del Mastro as Prime Minister Stephen Harper's parliamentary secretary. Pierre Poilievre, who served in that role with gusto for several years, moves to Transport, Infrastructure and Communities and the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario.

Read the full list with biographies.

Download Flash Player to view this content.
Comments are closed.