Former British prime minister Winston Churchill's fascination with science led to several scientific achievements that helped win the Second World War and contributed to U.K. leadership in science today, a new museum exhibition claims.

Jan. 24 marks the 50th anniversary of Churchill's death. During the Second World War, he led his country from the brink of defeat through to the Allied victory against Nazi Germany, and his can-do attitude in the face of adversity continues to inspire leaders today.

To mark the anniversary, a new exhibition at the Science Museum in London looks at how Churchill's fascination with science and gadgets led not only to military achievements that helped Britain in the war, but also left a legacy of scientific research and innovation that continues in Britain today.

AUDIO: Listen to the Mattia Cabitza report from the museum.(Click the player below)

Listen to this story and others on CBC Radio's The World This Weekend, Saturday night at 6 p.m. ET (7 p.m. AT, 7:30 p.m. NT).