Governor General David Johnston presided over a ceremony today to invest 45 recipients into the Order of Canada — 12 officers and 33 members.

The ceremony at Rideau Hall honoured retired Canadian astronaut Chris Hadfield, former Bank of Canada governor Mark Carney and Canadian rock music icons Jim Cuddy and Greg Keelor of Blue Rodeo.  

Blue Rodeo founders enter Order of Canada6:22

It also honoured the late philanthropist Joe Rotman, former chair of the Canada Council for the Arts, with the Meritorious Service Cross.

The Order of Canada was created in 1967, Canada's centennial year, to recognize outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. More than 6,000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order, according to the Governor General's office.

Here is a full list of recipients. More information on their achievements can be found here.


Joseph Rotman (deceased), Toronto


Mark Carney, London, U.K. and Ottawa

Harvey Max Chochinov, Winnipeg

James Gordon Cuddy, Toronto

Judson Graham Day, Hantsport, N.S.

Gerald Hunter Finley, Mark Cross, Crowborough, U.K. and Montreal

Catherine Frazee, Canning, N.S.

Col. Chris Austin Hadfield (Ret'd), Sarnia, Ont.

James Gregory Keelor, Toronto

Mark Lautens,  Toronto

Wendy Levinson, Toronto

The Hon. Allen Linden, Toronto

James Rodger Miller, Saskatoon


The Hon. Jacob Austin, Vancouver

Kenneth MacClure Baird, Ottawa

Mitchell A. Baran. (deceased) London, Ont.

Daniel Bertolino, Montreal

Josiane Boulad-Ayoub, Montreal

Wendy Marion Cecil, Toronto

Jagannath Prasad Das, Edmonton

Michael DeGagné, North Bay, Ont.

Edgar J. Dosman, Toronto.

Marcia "Kappy" Flanders, Montreal

Brenda Louise Gallie, Toronto

Christophe Guy, Montreal

Mel Hoppenheim, Montreal

Monique Jérôme-Forget, Montreal

Patrick Johnston, Roslin, Ont.

Donna Soble Kaufman, Toronto

Guy Gavriel Kay, Toronto

Arthur Alexander Kube, Surrey, B.C.

Grégoire Legendre, Quebec, Que.

Jens Lindemann, Pacific Palisades, California and Edmonton

Michel Louvain, Montreal

Keith MacLellan, Bristol, Que.

Thomas J. Marrie, Halifax

The Hon. Michael A. Meighen, Toronto

Fiona Nelson, Toronto

Cal Nichols, Edmonton,

Charles E. Pascal, Toronto

Hubert Sacy, Montreal

H. Olav Slaymaker, Vancouver

Morley Torgov, Toronto

Barbara Turnbull (deceased), Toronto

V. Prem Watsa, Toronto

H. Bruce Williams, Montreal