Prominent candidates: Duceppe, Ignatieff, Cannon defeated

Many prominent candidates including two party leaders are defeated in a historic election night. Party leader Elizabeth May has been elected, becoming Canada's first-ever Green MP.

Many prominent candidates including two party leaders have been defeated in a historic election night.

The following is a list of prominent incumbents we will be keeping close tabs on, from East to West and North.

Atlantic Canada

Siobhan Coady, Liberal, St. John's - Mt. Pearl, NL, in a tight three-way race. DEFEATED.

Lawrence Cannon, Conservative minister of foreign affairs, defeated in his Quebec riding of Pontiac. (Reuters)

Gail Shea, Conservative, minister of fisheries, Egmont, PEI, won by just 55 votes in 2008. ELECTED.

Peter Mackay, Conservative, minister of national defence, Central Nova. ELECTED.

Dominic LeBlanc, Liberal, possible leadership contender, Beausejour, N.B. ELECTED.


Maxime Bernier, former Conservative cabinet minister, Beauce. ELECTED.

Denis Coderre, Liberal, Bourassa ELECTED.

Pablo Rodriquez, Liberal, Honoré Mercier. DEFEATED.

Gilles Duceppe, Bloc Québécois leader, Laurier St. Marie. DEFEATED.

Irwin Cotler, Liberal, Mount Royal, Pierre Trudeau's old riding.  ELECTED

Marlene Jennings, Liberal, Notre Dame de Grace. DEFEATED.

Thomas Mulcair, Outremont. ELECTED.

Justin Trudeau, Liberal, Papineau. ELECTED.

André Arthur, Independent, controversial former talk-show host, Portneuf - Jacques-Cartier. DEFEATED.

Justin Trudeau, re-elected handily in his Montreal riding of Papineau. (Reuters)

Stephane Dion, former Liberal leader, St. Laurent - Cartierville. ELECTED.

Marc Garneau, Liberal, former astronaut, Westmount - Ville-Marie. ELECTED.

Lawrence Cannon, Conservative minister of foreign affairs. DEFEATED.


Mark Holland, Liberal public safety critic, Ajax-Pickering, facing a tough Conservative opponent in Chris Alexander, former ambassador to Afghanistan. Holland DEFEATED, Alexander ELECTED.

Ruby Dhalla, Liberal, Brampton-Springdale. DEFEATED

Mario Silva, Liberal, Davenport DEFEATED.  Andrew Cash, NDP, ELECTED.

Bev Oda, Conservative minister of international co-operation, Durham. ELECTED

Joe Volpe, long-time Liberal MP in Eglinton-Lawrence. DEFEATED.

Ken Dryden, former NHL goalie and Liberal minister in York Centre. DEFEATED

Bob Rae, former Ontario premier and Liberal leadership contender, Toronto Centre. ELECTED.

Jack Layton, NDP leader, Toronto Danforth. ELECTED.

Olivia Chow, NDP, wife of Layton, Trinity Spadina. ELECTED.

Martha Hall Findlay, Liberal, Willowdale. DEFEATED.

Judy Sgro, LPC, York West. ELECTED.

Michael Ignatieff, Liberal leader, Etobicoke Lakeshore.  DEFEATED

John McCallum, Liberal finance critic, Markham - Unionville. ELECTED.

Gerard Kennedy, former Liberal leadership contender, Parkdale - High Park. DEFEATED.

Julian Fantino, Conservative, former OPP commissioner, Vaughan. ELECTED.

Tony Clement, Conservative industry minister, Parry Sound - Muskoka. ELECTED.

John Baird, Conservative House leader, Ottawa - West Nepean. ELECTED.

Cheryl Gallant, Conservative, Renfrew - Nippissing - Pembroke.  ELECTED.

Helena Geurgis, high-profile fight. (Reuters)

Helena Guergis, Independent-Conservative, drummed from the Conservative party, running in long-time family stronghold, Simcoe - Grey. DEFEATED.


Anita Neville, Liberal, Winnipeg South Central. DEFEATED.

Stephen Harper, Conservative leader, Calgary Southwest. ELECTED.

Linda Duncan, surprise NDP winner in Edmonton Strathcona in 2008. ELECTED.

British Columbia

Mark Strahl, Conservative, Chilliwack-Fraser Canyon. ELECTED.

James Moore, Conservative, Port Moody Westwood. ELECTED.

Gary Lunn, Conservative minister of state, Saanich - Gulf Islands, was in a highly publicized battle against Green Party Leader Elizabeth May. May  is ELECTED

Ujjal Dosanjh, Liberal, former premier, Vancouver South. DEFEATED.


Leona Algukkaq, Conservative health minister, Nunavut, challenged by Liberal Paul Okalik, a former territorial premier. ELECTED.