MPs helping to narrow down a list of potential Supreme Court of Canada nominees held their first meeting Friday — and got their first peek at who's on the list.

Conservative MPs Bob Dechert, Candice Hoeppner and Brent Rathgeber, NDP MP Joe Comartin and Liberal Irwin Cotler will pare down a list of qualified candidates to six to replace two departing justices from Ontario. Ian Binnie, 72, and Louise Charron, 60, are retiring this year.

The initial list was put together by Justice Minister Rob Nicholson in consultation with Prime Minister Stephen Harper, Chief Justice Beverley McLachlin and legal experts from Ontario.

The panel is reviewing each candidate's resumé, as well as their judgments and publications. They'll also consult with the Canadian Bar Association, the Law Society of Upper Canada and other prominent experts.

The next meeting is a mid-August teleconference. The government expects to get the six recommendations by the end of September, after which Harper and Nicholson will choose the final two nominees. The two nominees are to appear in front of an ad hoc parliamentary committee to answer questions before their appointments are finalized.

The Supreme Court resumes hearings in mid-October.