Nine First Nation, Inuit and Métis MPs have formed the Liberal government's new Indigenous caucus, the party announced on Tuesday.

A record number of Indigenous MPs were elected in the most recent federal election: nine Liberals and two New Democrats.

Chairman Don Rusnak said in a release that the caucus will advocate for Indigenous issues, adding that he believes it to be the largest of its kind in Canadian history.

The caucus members include: 

  • Don Rusnak, Thunder Bay-Rainy River.
  • Jody Wilson-Raybould, Vancouver-Granville.
  • Yvonne Jones, Labrador-Newfoundland.
  • Randy Boissonnault, Edmonton Centre.
  • Robert-Falcon Ouellette, Winnipeg Centre.
  • Marc Serré, Nickel Belt.
  • Michael McLeod, Northwest Territories.
  • Dan Vandal, St. Boniface-St. Vital.
  • Vance Badawey, Niagara Centre.

"We have had people approach us individually for advice on bills or programming, and we decided it would be more effective to work together as a group," Rusnak said. "We are by no means the final say on Indigenous perspectives, but we are a starting point."