Late Night 's David Letterman, stand-up comic Louis C.K. and TV hit Modern Family were winners at the first-ever American Comedy Awards on the weekend.

The fledgling U.S. honour, hosted by the Comedy Central network in New York on Saturday night, presented awards for achievements in a host of categories that recognized film, television, sketch and online comedy.

Veteran comedian and host Letterman earned the evening's most prestigious trophy, the Johnny Carson Award for Comedic Excellence, while actor and former stand-up comic Eddie Murphy was honoured with the Comedy Icon Award.

The documentary/concert film Louis C.K.: Hilarious, which premiered at the 2010 Sundance Film Festival, was named best standup special.

Mockumentary-style TV comedy Modern Family nabbed the trophy for best comedy series as well as for its direction.

The Will Ferrell and Mark Wahlberg slapstick cop flick The Other Guys was named best comedy film.

Other winners included:


Eddie Murphy was honoured as a Comedy Icon at the inaugural American Comedy Awards. (Charles Sykes/Associated Press)

  • Comedy actor, TV: Alec Baldwin, 30 Rock.
  • Comedy actress, TV: Kristen Wiig, Saturday Night Live.
  • Comedy writing, TV: 30 Rock.
  • Late-night series, TV: The Daily Show with Jon Stewart.
  • Animated series, TV: South Park.
  • Sketch comedy/Alternative comedy series: Childrens Hospital.
  • Comedy actor, film: Zach Galifianakis, Dinner for Schmucks.
  • Comedy actress, film: Tina Fey, Date Night.
  • Animated comedy, film: Toy Story 3.
  • Comedy writing, film: Hot Tub Time Machine.
  • Comedy direction, film: Edgar Wright, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World.
  • Breakthrough performer: Daniel Tosh.
  • Best viral original: Bed Intruder Song, Auto-Tune the News.

The star-studded awards show will air on a host of channels — including Canada's The Comedy Network and Comedy Central, Spike TV, CMT, TV Land and VH1 in the U.S. — on April 10.

With files from The Associated Press