Whitby-Oshawa byelection: voters head to polls

Voters in the provincial riding of Whitby-Oshawa head to the polls today in a byelection to replace Progressive Conservative Christine Elliott, who stepped down last summer.

Byelection to fill seat vacated by Progressive Conservative Christine Elliott

The Whitby-Oshawa byelection will fill the seat vacated by the PC's Christine Elliott. (Elections Ontario)

Voters head to the polls today in a provincial byelection in the riding of Whitby-Oshawa. 

Polls opened at 9 a.m. and will close at 9 p.m. More than 111,000 voters are eligible to cast ballots. 

Information about where to vote and details about what identification is required to cast a ballot is posted here on the Elections Ontario website.

The byelection was triggered after Progressive Conservative Christine Elliott resigned the seat last summer, after losing her party's leadership race to Patrick Brown.

Elliott had held the riding since 2006. Prior to that her late husband, Jim Flaherty, was the area's MPP for 10 years.

Both were quite popular and the Liberals are hoping now that they have a real shot at the riding for the first time in decades.

The candidates include:

  • Lorne Coe (Progressive Conservatives). 
  • Stacey Leadbetter (Greens).
  • Niki Lundquist (NDP).
  • Elizabeth Roy (Liberals).

Elections Ontario says turnout in advance polls was up slightly from the 2014 general election. Preliminary figures indicated that 6,861 voters cast their ballot in an advance poll, compared to 6,613 in Whitby-Oshawa in 2014.

​The byelection is being used as a pilot project for Elections Ontario, with 42 of the riding's 70 polls using electronic voting machines today. In addition to the voting machines, a scanning machine will be used to electronically check off names from the voting list.