More candidates declare in northwestern Ontario

The Green Party of Ontario has announced candidates for Thunder Bay's two ridings.

The Green Party of Ontario has announced candidates for Thunder Bay's two ridings.

John Northey will stand for the Green Party in Thunder Bay-Atikokan, and Joseph LeBlanc is the Green candidate in Thunder Bay-Superior North.

Those two candidates join another in northwestern Ontario; Tim McKillop is running for the Greens in Kenora-Rainy River. Meanwhile, Libertarian Jason Cousineau, has dropped out of that race in that riding.

Here's a recap of who's been nominated so far as provincial election candidates in northwestern Ontario:

  • In Thunder Bay-Superior North, incumbent Liberal Michael Gravelle faces challenges from New Democrat Andrew Foulds, PC party candidate Derek Parks and Tamara Johnson of the Libertarian party.
  • In Thunder Bay-Atikokan, incumbent Bill Mauro will be joined on the ballot, along with Mary Kozorys of the NDP, Harold Wilson of the PC Party and Jason Lavallee of the Libertarians.
  • In Kenora-Rainy River, Anthony Leek of the Liberals, Randy Nickle of the PC party, and Tim McKillop of the Greens are challenging NDP incumbent Sarah Campbell.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.