Seven Ontario universities are launching a sweeping credit transfer initiative.

Students will be able to count any first year arts and science course taken for credit at a participating university for general credit at their home institution.

This blanket agreement will provide enhanced flexibility for students working towards a bachelor's degree at any of the seven universities.

The seven institutions have agreed on specific course equivalencies across more than 20 of the most popular and high enrolment courses.

The arrangement will make it possible for students to go home during the summer and take a course at one of the participating schools knowing that credit will be counted.

The participating institutions are McMaster University, Queen's University, University of Guelph, University of Ottawa, University of Toronto, University of Waterloo, and Western University.