Candidates for the Liberal, Progressive Conservative, New Democratic, Green and Libertarian parties officially begin their campaigns for the Ontario election on Wednesday, May 7, when the campaign period for the June 12 vote opens.

In northwestern Ontario, four parties have nominated candidates.

In Thunder Bay-Superior North, incumbent Liberal Michael Gravelle faces challenges from New Democrat Andrew Foulds,  PC candidate Derek Parks and Tamara Johnson of the Libertarian party.

In Thunder Bay-Atikokan, incumbent Bill Mauro will be joined on the ballot by Mary Kozorys of the NDP, Harold Wilson of the Progressive Conservatives and Jason Lavallee representing the Libertarians.

In Kenora-Rainy River, Anthony Leek of the Liberals, Randy Nickle of the PC party, Tim McKillop of the Greens and Libertarian Jason Cousineau are challenging NDP incumbent Sarah Campbell.


  • An earlier version of this story stated that the Green party has not announced any candidates in northwestern Ontario.
    May 03, 2014 12:40 PM ET
  • An earlier version of this story reported that Lavallee was a candidate for the Libertarians. He subsequently told CBC he had informed the Libertarian party he would be unable to participate, which we then reported. However, Lavallee later called back to say he had changed his mind and will be a candidate.
    May 05, 2014 4:52 PM ET