Emergency Management Ontario says six communities in northeastern Ontario remain under a state of emergency.

Ontario flood damage

Part of Highway 552 in northeastern Ontario was washed out by heavy rains last week. (CBC)

The communities made the declaration last week after heavy rain caused major flooding, and include Batchewana First Nation, Johnson, Laird and Plummer Additional Townships, Echo Bay and the Municipality of Huron Shores.

According to the Ministry of Transportation, all major highways are now open.

Highway 17 was closed last week due to flooding, but it re-opened over the weekend.