Northern Ontario will keep all of its 10 federal electoral ridings.

Every 10 years, the ridings are reviewed to see if they need to be changed due to changing population numbers.

The Redistribution Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission found that the population did slightly decrease in northern Ontario and, if quotas were strictly applied, the region would only have eight ridings.

The commission, which collected public feedback before making its decision, announced that, due to northern Ontario's vast geographic size, 10 ridings would remain.