While Newfoundlanders will be able to view the results of their local elections at 7 p.m. ET on Tuesday, it will be three hours before residents of British Columbia and the Yukon will have access to those results, thanks to the Canada Elections Act.

The discrepancy in the timing of the release of election results is due to Section 329 of the act, which prevents the transmission of election results in one electoral district where polls have closed to another electoral district where the polls are still open.

When you can vote: 

 Time zone  Polls open (local time)
 Newfoundland   8:30 a.m. - 8:30 p.m.
 Atlantic   8:30 a.m. - 8:30 p.m.
 Eastern   9:30 a.m. - 9:30 p.m.
 Central   8:30 a.m. - 8:30 p.m.
 Saskatchewan   7:30 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.
 Mountain   7:30 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.
 Pacific   7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.

Source: Elections Canada

Polls in Newfoundland close at 7 p.m. ET, whereas those in the Yukon and British Columbia close at 10 p.m. ET.

"Elections Canada wishes to make sure the voter who has not yet cast their ballot is not influenced by a voter who has already cast their ballot," Grace Lake, spokesperson for Elections Canada in Toronto, told CBCNews.ca on Tuesday.

It was partly due to these regulations that Elections Canada has started polling at different times across the country, she said.

CBCNews.ca begins coverage of the election results at 10 p.m. ET.

Regional CBC-TV broadcasts, meanwhile, will begin coverage of election results 30 minutes before local polls close.

CBC Newsworld will have live coverage of the election results starting at 9 p.m. ET.

British Columbia and the Yukon will experience a blackout between 6:30 p.m. and 7 p.m. PT in compliance with the Canada Elections Act.