Environment Canada has issued special weather statements for much of Saskatchewan due to forest fire smoke from the Northwest Territories.

Smoke from the N.W.T., Albert and northern B.C. is pushing into the province and is expected to be widespread by the afternoon.

The B.C. government's wildfire smoke forecast shows the situation becoming more pronounced throughout today.

Mamawetan Churchill River Health Region in northern Saskatchewan says if there's smoke in the air, the elderly, the very young or people with heart conditions should stay inside. 

Smoke forecast for Western Canada

The B.C. government's smoke forecast for Western Canada shows smoke pushing into north Saskatchewan by 1 a.m. CST (midnight PDT) Thursday. (Government of British Columbia)

Wildfire forecast in Western Canada

By 1 p.m. PDT (2 p.m. CST) it's expected wildfire smoke will have reached about 90 per cent of the Saskatchewan, with the north seeing the highest concentrations. (Government of British Columbia)