Former Saskatchewan premier Grant Devine was awarded the province's Order of Merit onTuesday. ((CBC))

Grant Devine, Saskatchewan's premier through most of the 1980s, has been honoured with the province's Order of Merit.

The special form of recognition was created in 1985 during his first term in government. Since then, 168 prominent people from all walks of life in Saskatchewan have joined the order.

"We're a province of remarkable people," Lt.-Gov. Gordon Barnhart said Tuesday night during the ceremony in Regina where Devine received the honour. "And that's what we're celebrating tonight."

Devine, 65, was Saskatchewan's premier for two terms, beginning in 1982. In 1991, his Progressive Conservative Party lost power to the New Democratic Party, led by Roy Romanow.

"The achievements of our members of the order are profound," Barnhart added.

In biographical notes released Tuesday, Barnhart's office described Devine as a politician with "vision and courage."

In addition to Devine, four others were honoured on Tuesday:

  • Lawyer Harold McKay.
  • Dr. David Miller.
  • Social worker Linda Rudachyk.
  • Environmentalist Lorne Scott.