Barbara Byers receives Order of Canada for contributions to labour

A former president of the Saskatchewan Federation of Labour was one of 69 people to receive the Order of Canada at a ceremony at Rideau Hall on Friday.

Byers is a former president of SGEU and the Saskatchewan Federation of Labour

Barbara Byers, secretary-treasurer for the Canadian Labour Congress. (CBC)

Former Saskatchewan Federation of Labour president Barbara Byers received the Order of Canada at a special ceremony at Rideau Hall on Friday.

Byers, who is from Ottawa, was named a member of the Order of Canada on Dec. 30, 2016. She was one of 49 people to be named members of the Order, while six companions and 14 officers were also named.

They were officially "invested" by Governor General David Johnston at the Ottawa ceremony.

Byers is currently the secretary-treasurer for the Canadian Labour Congress.

For years, she "fought for the underdog" as a social worker, before becoming president of the Saskatchewan Government Employees Union (SGEU) and the Saskatchewan Federation of Labour (SFL).

Byers was nominated for the Order of Canada because of "her contributions as an important voice in the Canadian labour movement."

She is also the founder of the SFL Summer Camp for Youth in Saskatchewan.

Author Joseph Boyden, filmmaker Rudy Buttignol, and painter Ivan Eyre were also named members. Find the full list of Order of Canada recipients here.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.