Six municipalities around Saskatchewan have now declared flood emergencies.

According to the provincial government, the list now includes the towns of Radville and Abernethy, the rural municipalities of Laurier, Elfros and Estevan and a First Nation, Cowessess.

For the past two weeks, heavy spring runoff has been causing creeks and rivers to overflow around the province.

Sandbagging is going on in dozens of communities, as residents struggle to keep rising water from reaching their homes.

Earlier this week, a large section of the Trans-Canada Highway east of Regina was temporarily closed.

On Thursday, westbound lanes that had been closed were open again, although water is flowing across the road at points.

However, a number of other highways are closed.

The Highways Ministry advises people to check the Highways Hotline before heading out of town.


Flooding is widespread in the Qu'Appelle Valley east of Regina. (Courtesy Dwayne Metz)