Urban and rural communities are in line to receive $271 million in municipal revenue-sharing grants in the new fiscal year.

That's about 2 per cent higher than the $265.3 million budgeted last year.

Municipal revenue sharing grants give cities, towns, villages and rural municipalities the equivalent of one percentage point of provincial sales tax revenue.

The two biggest recipients are Saskatoon ($48.5 million) and Regina ($42.1 million).

The 2016-17 fiscal year begins April 1.