One of the PEI Rocket new co-owners, Geoff Boyle, speaks publicly for the first time about the new deal that puts the hockey team in the hands of a group of local owners.

The group's strong local networking ties will allow the new owners to reach out to the community, said Boyle.

"This truly is our team for the first time ever."

The investors for 2013-2014 are:

  • Bill Enserink
  • Bill Kinney
  • Bobby MacMillan
  • Todd Rix and Brad Campbell
  • Brian MacDonald
  • Darren Gray
  • Dave and Kate Trainor
  • Geoff Boyle
  • Joel Ives
  • Pat Morris
  • Troy and Shawn MacKenzie
  • Terry and Ted Mossey
  • Terry Hennessey

Boyle said each investor paid $100,000 in the deal for a total of $1.5 million. He said the ownership group has made arrangements with former team owner Serge Savard to pay off the remaining $2 million over time.