Chris Palmer has been chosen to represent the Liberal Party in the upcoming byelection for Summerside-Wilmot.

The property developer and owner of a pottery manufacturing business defeated two other candidates on the first ballot Wednesday evening to grab the nomination.

Palmer won over business consultant Nancy Beth Guptill and Summerside city councillor Brian McFeely, although the party would not divulge the final vote totals.

The Liberals said they had 263 people registered to vote, compared to the 170 at the PC nomination meeting earlier in the week.

The seat was vacated on Aug. 1, when former environment minister Janice Sherry stepped down.

A date for the byelection hasn't yet been announced.

Premier Wade MacLauchlan must hold a byelection within six months of the seat being vacated, meaning he has until the end of January.


Premier Wade MacLauchlan was on hand to speak to the 300 people at the nomination. (Kerry Campbell/CBC)

MacLauchlan spoke at the meeting, but indicated he was not ready yet to announce the date.

On Monday, Brian Ramsay secured the nomination for the PC Party. Ramsay was also the PC candidate in the riding in the 2015 election, and came within just 30 votes of taking the seat from Sherry.

The Green Party has chosen deputy leader Lynne Lund as its candidate

Scott Gaudet, who placed third in the district in the 2015 election, will run for the NDP.