Islander Heather Moyse notches World Cup bobsled win

Canada's Kaillie Humphries and Heather Moyse kicked off the World Cup women's bobsled season with an impressive victory Saturday at Canada Olympic Park in Calgary.

Moyse and teammate Kaillie Humphries win first race of the season

CALGARY - Canada's Kaillie Humphries and Heather Moyse kicked off the World Cup women's bobsled season with an impressive victory Saturday at Canada Olympic Park.

The reigning Olympic champions won gold with a two-run time of one minute 52.77 seconds.

Humphries, from Calgary, and Moyse, from Summerside, P.E.I., set new push records in each of their two runs. They finished over a half-second ahead of Elana Meyers and Aja Evans of the United States, who took silver in 1:53.33.

The American duo of Jamie Greubel and Katie Eberling won bronze in 1:53.62. Edmonton's Jennifer Ciochetti and Chelsea Valois of Zenon Park, Sask., were ninth.

Earlier, American Steven Holcomb completed a sweep of the men's World Cup bobsled races with a victory in the four-man event while Canadian Chris Spring just missed the podium with a fourth-place finish.

Holcomb, the reigning Olympic gold medallist, guided his team of Curt Tomasevicz, Steven Langton and Chris Fogt to a two-run time of 1:48.56.

Germany's Maximilian Arndt and Russia's Alexander Zubkov finished tied for second place in 1:48.65 and Spring, from Calgary, was fourth in 1:48.67.

"We're a little off the podium, it's not what we wanted but there are lots of positives to come out of this," Spring said. "We'll leave here pretty happy and moving on to the next stop, we've got some good momentum coming our way."

Spring was eighth after the first run but had the fastest time in the second run on a cool, overcast afternoon.

Holcomb and Langton won gold in the two-man race on Friday at the season-opening event.

"For us to have this first World Cup under our belts with a new team and new equipment, it's kind of like having a monkey off our back," Langton said. "It gives us that confidence moving forward."

Spring and Jesse Lumsden of Burlington, Ont., won bronze in the two-man race. They were joined by Cody Sorensen of Ottawa and Saskatoon's Ben Coakwell for the four-man competition.

The other Canadian sleds also cracked the top 10 on Saturday.

Lyndon Rush of Humboldt, Sask., was sixth in 1:48.88 and Justin Kripps of Summerland, B.C., was ninth in 1:49.02.

Rush was joined by David Bissett and Neville Wright, both of Edmonton, and Calgary's Lascelles Brown. Kripps piloted James MacNaughton of Newmarket, Ont., Toronto's Tim Randall and Graeme Rinholm of Medicine Hat, Alta.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.