The Conservative Party failed to make any gains on P.E.I. Monday night, as the Liberals maintained their dominance of the Island.

The Liberals retained their three seats - Malpeque, Charlottetown and Cardigan - while the Conservatives held Egmont, their one seat.


Liberal Sean Casey talks to Bruce Rainnie at his Charlottetown headquarters. ((Tracy Lightfoot/CBC))

The Liberal holds on P.E.I. ran against a national trend, with the party suffering losses across the country.

While the final seat results were the same as 2008, the NDP tide did have affect on the Island's popular vote.

The effect was the strongest in Charlottetown, where the promise of a three-way race between the Liberals, Conservatives and NDP bore some fruit. The NDP doubled their share of the vote in Charlottetown, but it was still only good enough for a third place finish.

NDP popular vote
  2008 2011
Egmont  9.05% 12.37%
Malpeque 9.67% 14.63%
Charlottetown 12.31%  25.08%
Cardigan 8.31% 10.24%

Charlottetown was seen from the outset as the most likely place for the Liberals to lose a seat, because incumbent Shawn Murphy chose not to run, but Sean Casey was able to keep it red.

The Conservatives broke a 20-year Liberal monopoly with Gail Shea's win in Egmont in 2008, and had hopes for the three other ridings in this election. In Cardigan, the party put forward former provincial cabinet minister Mike Currie, but he could not topple veteran Lawrence MacAulay.

Currie's best hope to pick up votes on MacAulay was in Stratford, the riding's largest community and the Island's fastest growing. But the first reporting polls were out of Stratford, and even those went in MacAulay's favour.

While Charlottetown was expected to be the closest race, Malpeque was the last riding to be called. Liberal Wayne Easter's margin was cut to fewer than 700 votes by Conservative Tim Ogilvie.