CBC P.E.I. nominated for 12 regional journalism awards

CBC Prince Edward Island is "thrilled" to be been nominated for a dozen awards from both the Atlantic Journalism Awards and the Radio Television Digital News Association, or RTDNA.

'Our CBC PEI team is passionate about their work and these nominations are a much-appreciated recognition'

Bruce Rainnie anchored PEI Votes coverage in May 2015, nominated for an Atlantic Journalism Award. (Tracy Lightfoot/CBC)

CBC Prince Edward Island has been nominated for a dozen awards from both the Atlantic Journalism Awards and the Radio Television Digital News Association, or RTDNA. 

​The AJAs has been an annual celebration of journalistic excellence and achievement in Atlantic Canada since 1981. RTDNA Canada awards honour the best journalists, programs, stations and newsgathering organizations in radio, television and digital. 

"We are thrilled and honoured by these nominations. Our CBC P.E.I. team is passionate about their work and these nominations are a much appreciated recognition," said CBC P.E.I. Senior Manager Jim Ferguson. 

"At a time of unprecedented challenges to our industry, it is now more important than ever to recognize the very best in Canadian electronic and digital journalism," added RTDNA Canada President Ian Koenigsfest in a written release. 

"These prestigious awards allow us to put aside our competitive energies for an evening and celebrate the very best in Canadian journalism."

RTDNA Awards

CBC P.E.I. is up for best online spot news for coverage of last summer's fire on Prince Street in Charlottetown. Donna Allen, Stephanie Kelly and Angela MacIvor co-ordinated that story.

The entire P.E.I. newsroom's Snowmageddon 2015 coverage is up against CBC Nova Scotia for the Ron Laidlaw Award award for continuing coverage. 

Laura Chapin is nominated for an RTDNA in two radio categorties: the Sam Ross Award for commentary for Remembrance Day: A Journey to Flanders and for the Dan MacArthur Award for her investigative work on Passing the School Bus.

Sarah Keaveny Vos is nominated for the Adrienne Clarkson Award for diversity for her radio item about the People First Theatre Troupe's new play Jemma's Cookies, which talked about what it means to grow older as an mentally disabled adult and the importance of friendship.

CBC Radio News P.E.I. is up for best newscast in a small market for a cast written and delivered on-air by Angela Walker. 

Nancy's Russell's radio item on seniors learning how to use iPads is one of two contenders for the Dave Rogers Award (small/medium market) for a long feature.

And CBC P.E.I.'s television team, with host Bruce Rainnie and producer Tracy Lightfoot at the helm, are seeking a win for their 2015 live provincial election coverage, taking on CBC Nova Scotia and CBC Newfoundland and Labrador.

Atlantic Journalism Awards  

CBC P.E.I. is up for four Atlantic Journalism awards. 

Jessica Doria-Brown has been nominated for best radio breaking news for her coverage of the barber shop fire last spring on the corner of Prince and Grafton streets. 

Laura Meader has been nominated for best video journalist of 2015. 

Island Morning is competing with CBC morning programs in Fredericton, N.B. and St. John's, N.L. for best information news radio program.

And CBC Television: Compass is up for best television news broadcast. 

The Atlantic Journalism Awards, hosted by Janique LeBlanc and Michael de Adder, will be held May 7 in Halifax, N.S.

The RTDNA awards ceremony will be held April 16 in Dartmouth, N.S. The winners in each category will be considered for national RTDNA awards.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.