Municipal election day saw three mayors returned to office in eastern P.E.I., but seven of the 69 communities scheduled for elections Monday did not hold them.


Richard Collins 496
Pat McGowan 181


Lewis Lavandier 147
Peter Llewellyn 93
Craig Murphy 80


David MacDonald 240
Shane Clements 76



Richard Collins was re-elected mayor of Montague, Lewis Lavandier was returned to office in Georgetown, and in Souris David MacDonald will serve another term as mayor.

Elections were scheduled in 69 municipalities Monday, but most of the results are still unknown outside of the immediate communities where the counting was done. Many communities will sent their ballots into Elections PEI by mail. Elections PEI says it could be a week before it posts official results.

Elections postponed

Seven communities did not hold their scheduled elections Monday.

There was some confusion in the town of Morell.

People who turned out to vote Monday were greeted by a sign that said the election had been postponed because proper notice had not been given. Community chair Jean Eldershaw told CBC News she received a call from the Department of Municipal Affairs on Monday, saying the election could not go ahead.

"We couldn't hold the election because we did not advertise in a newspaper twice. We only advertised once," said Eldershaw.

There was a similar situation in Alexandra, Ellerslie-Bideford, Morell, St. Nicholas, St. Louis, and the community of West River. As in Morell, the elections were postponed because the notice required by the Municipalities Act was not given.

In Breadalbane, the election was postponed because of the death of the community chair.

Five municipalities on the Island — Charlottetown, Summerside, Stratford, Cornwall and Cavendish — did not vote Monday. Those communities have been on a different schedule. The next municipal elections, however, will see every community vote on the same day in 2014.

The idea is to entice more voters to go to the polls.