Dalton McGuinty's former riding of Ottawa South has become a political battleground for the three major parties in the province and is viewed by some political analysts as a referendum on the Liberal Party and Kathleen Wynne, McGuinty's replacement as premier.

Candidates for Ottawa South

Brisson, Jean-Serge


6651 11th Concession Maidstone, Ont., N0R 1K0


Fraser, John

Ontario Liberal Party

1901 Bank St. Ottawa, Ont., K1V 8A1


Funiciello, Bronwyn

Ontario NDP/NPD

11-830 Industrial Ave. Ottawa, Ont., K1G 4B8


Howarth, Taylor

Green Party of Ontario

205 Twyford St. Ottawa, Ont., K1V 0V9


Mcgruer, David

Freedom Party of Ontario

240 Commissioners Rd. W London, Ont., N6J 1Y1


Post, Daniel


Redins, John

Party for People with Special Needs

505-341 Bloor St. W Toronto, Ont., M5S 1W8


Turmel, John


Young, Matt

PC Party of Ontario

1644 Bank St. Ottawa, Ont., K1V 7Y6


Ottawa Morning guest host Hallie Cotnam had Liberal candidate John Fraser, Progressive Conservative Matt Young and NDP Bronwyn Funiciello in studio Tuesday morning, just two days ahead of the Thursday byelection.

Your issues

On All in a Day, we asked listeners to identify issues that were important to them. Click on the links below to hear the responses from the candidates:

D is for Dinner: Byelection edition

Throughout the last four weeks of the campaign, All in a Day has asked candidates for the major political parties to take us out to their favourite Ottawa South eateries and give us a chance to get to know them.

Click on the links below to hear more: 

Election day details

Election day is Aug. 1, 2013.

Voters should check their Notice of Registration Card to determine their election day voting location, or go to Elections Ontario's website to find their polling station.

Polls are open from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. ET.