CBC News Ottawa Television is nominated for best local news anchor and best local reportage in the 2016 Canadian Screen Awards.

Adrian Harewood and Lucy van Oldenbarneveld, hosts of CBC News Ottawa at 6 p.m., are nominated jointly for best local news anchor.

And the station's coverage of the aftermath of the Oct. 22, 2014, shootings on Parliament Hill and the National War Memorial — by reporters Ashley Burke, Judy Trinh and Omar Dabaghi-Pacheco — is nominated for best local reportage.

"Our hosts really are key to our connection to the Ottawa community — and community will be one of our main focuses this coming year," said Marissa Nelson, CBC's senior managing director of the Ontario region.

"Unique and compelling content is another focus, and I'm so pleased the storytelling [following Oct. 22] is being recognized."

Van Oldenbarneveld has been on medical leave from her anchoring duties since July after being diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer. You can watch her video updates about her treatment here.

The Canadian Screen Awards will be given out on March 13 and the award show will be broadcast on CBC.