The first impact of teacher protests of anti-strike legislation in Ontario may be felt on the field, as 10 Ottawa public high schools did not sign up any sports teams in time for the fall schedule deadline.

Ottawa-Carleton District School Board schools had until noon Monday to register sports teams in one of 14 fall sports, including cross-country running, basketball, volleyball, swimming, golf and field hockey.

Teachers, however, do most of the volunteer work with the sports teams, and last week union leaders recommended that teachers "take a pause" from volunteer activities.

The teachers' unions are protesting the McGuinty government's passing last week of Bill 115, which put a two-year freeze on wages and strikes.

CBC News has learned only three schools — Glebe Collegiate Institute, Colonel By Secondary School and Sir Robert Borden High School — registered a team in every sport.

Ten schools did not register any teams. They are:

  • A.Y. Jackson Secondary School
  • Bell High School
  • Cairine Wilson Secondary School
  • Hillcrest High School
  • Osgoode Township High School
  • Rideau High School
  • Ridgemont High School
  • South Carleton High School
  • West Carleton Secondary School
  • Woodroffe High School

Twelve of the remaining 13 schools registered for some, but not all, of the sports teams. The last school, Sir Guy Carleton Secondary School, does not register sports teams.

Schools limit sports teams

School board director of education Jennifer Adams confirmed about half of the board's 25 schools would not be offering any sports teams, but declined to give specifics.

Adams said parents or students concerned about whether their school will be fielding a team should contact the school itself.

Six of Ottawa's public high schools are entering a very limited number of fall sports teams: Nepean High School, Brookfield High School, John McCrae Secondary School, Canterbury High School, Longfields-Davidson Heights Secondary School, Sir Wilfrid Laurier Secondary School and Merivale High School.

Nepean High School has registered a girls' field hockey team only because a retired former teacher has volunteered to coach.

The remainder of high schools only registered in individual sports. They are: Earl of March Secondary School, Gloucester High School, Lisgar Collegiate Institute and Ottawa Technical High School.