Nova Scotia's legislative assembly will have a record number of women sitting as MLAs when it reconvenes.

Voters elected 14 of the 42 women who ran in Tuesday's election. That’s two more elected than in 2009.

The province's premier-designate, Stephen McNeil, will have 10 women to choose from when selecting the first Liberal cabinet in 14 years

The following women will help form government:

  • Patricia Arab
  • Joanne Bernard
  • Karen Casey
  • Lena M. Diab
  • Pam Eyking
  • Suzanne Lohnes-Croft
  • Margaret Miller
  • Kelly Regan
  • Joyce Treen
  • Diana Whalen

Bernard is also Nova Scotia’s first openly gay MLA. The Dartmouth North representative said she’s been dreaming of this moment since she was eight years old.

“I’m not a gay candidate. I happen to be a candidate who's gay," she said. "I'm glad I can be a role model for folks if need be and people can realize staying in the closet is not something they need to do and you can do what you want."

The NDP had 12 women carry its banner in the campaign, but only three won their seats. Maureen MacDonald, Denise Peterson-Rafuse and Lenore Zann were all re-elected.

Only one woman will sit with the Official Opposition. Tory Karla MacFarlane won in Pictou West.