Nova Scotia's Liberals have shattered the traditional New Democrat stronghold in Halifax and the surrounding areas by taking all but two of the 19 seats in the Halifax Regional Municipality.

The survivors of what was once the New Democratic Party's fortress of support are two stalwarts: Maureen MacDonald in Halifax Needham, who served as the province's first female finance minister in Premier Darrell Dexter's government, and Dave Wilson in Sackville-Cobequid, who served as the minister of health and wellness in Dexter's government.

Dexter lost his own metro Halifax seat of Cole Harbour-Portland Valley by a mere 21 votes to Liberal candidate Tony Ince, who took the seat with 4,002 votes.

Dexter had represented the area for 15 years.

The Liberals and Premier-designate Stephen McNeil targeted their campaign efforts in the Halifax-area ridings where New Democrat incumbents did not seek re-election.

High-profile cabinet ministers Bill Estabrooks, Marilyn More and Graham Steele did not run and neither did longtime MLAs Howard Epstein and Michele Raymond.

Tuesday's breakthrough for the Liberals came at the expense of the NDP, which had won 14 of 18 seats in the Halifax Regional Municipality in the 2009 election and 13 of 18 in the previous provincial election in 2006.

McNeil, Dexter and Progressive Conservative Leader Jamie Baillie all spent time campaigning in Halifax on Monday, the last full day of the campaign.

Where the leaders go generally indicates where they need to shore up their strength. This map shows where the leaders campaigned over the 32 days.