Premier Stephen McNeil announced changes Wednesday to deputy minister roles. (CBC)

Just a day after he was sworn in Liberal Premier Stephen McNeil has shuffled nearly half a dozen deputy ministers into different roles, while announcing that three others are leaving the public service entirely.

Gone are Kevin McNamara from Health and Wellness; Carole Olsen from Education and Early Childhood Development; and Sara Jane Snook from Environment.

A news release from the province did not say why they are leaving, only that their departure is immediate.

Acting deputy ministers will be appointed in the coming days.

Five other deputy ministers have been moved to new departments.

  • Margaret MacDonald, deputy minister of Treasury Board, becomes deputy minister of the new Department of Finance and Treasury Board.
  • Laura Lee Langley, leaves as deputy minister of Communities, Culture and Heritage, to become Commissioner of the Public Service Commission.
  • Liz Cody, deputy minister of Finance, becomes deputy minister of Environment.
  • Kelliann Dean, Commissioner of the Public Service Commission, becomes deputy minister of Communities, Culture and Heritage.
  • Kevin Malloy, deputy minister of Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations, becomes chief executive officer of Housing Nova Scotia.