Nova Scotia NDP leadership race facts and figures

About 3,000 New Democrats are eligible to vote to replace Darrell Dexter as the permanent party leader. Here are some facts and figures to provide some context to this race.

3,000 members choosing from 3 candidates with a winner to be announced in Dartmouth on Saturday

Three people have put their hats in the ring to lead the provincial NDP. From left to right there's Gary Burrill, Dave Wilson and Lenore Zann. ( Scotia Legislature)

Nova Scotia's New Democrats will choose a new leader to replace Darrell Dexter on Saturday.

Maureen MacDonald, the MLA for Halifax Needham, has been the interim leader since Dexter stepped down in November 2013.

The party's leadership convention starts Friday afternoon in Dartmouth and continues all day Saturday at the Holiday Inn Harbourview. The NDP's new leader will be announced at 2:30 p.m. on Saturday.

Here are some facts and figures about the party and this race:

3 candidates:

  • Gary Burrill, former MLA for Colchester-Musquodoboit Valley.
  • Dave Wilson, MLA for Sackville-Cobequid.
  • Lenore Zann, MLA for Truro-Bible Hill-Millbrook-Salmon River.

Key dates:

  • 1932: The party was founded as the Nova Scotia Co-operative Commonwealth Federation.
  • 1941: The federation won its first seats in the province's legislature when three members were elected.
  • 2009: Nova Scotia elects its first NDP government.


  • Approximately 3,000 party members eligible to vote in 2016 leadership race.
  • 900 new or renewed memberships as a result of race.
  • 63 per cent of members have already voted.
  • 10 to 20 per cent are expected to vote on Saturday.
  • Online voting started Monday, Feb. 15.


  • Candidates have 25 minutes for a rally and speeches Saturday morning.
  • Speeches will go in reverse alphabetical order: Zann, Wilson, Burrill.
  • Voting ends at 2 p.m.
  • A winner should be announced by 2:30 p.m.

About the Author

Jean Laroche


Jean Laroche has been a CBC reporter for 32 years. He's been covering Nova Scotia politics since 1995 and has been at Province House longer than any sitting member.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.