After a near sweep of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League finals, the Halifax Mooseheads made franchise history, winning the President Cup.

Friday night’s championship win marked the first time the team has won the QMJHL championship, sending them on to the Memorial Cup in Saskatoon. The first game of that series will take place next Friday.

The Mooseheads only gave up one game to Baie-Comeau Drakkar, taking the series four games to one.

The Mooseheads took an early lead during Friday’s final, scoring three goals in the first period.

The Moose gave up their first goal in the second period during a five on three power play after Nathan MacKinnon was called for tripping. Drakkar had some solid chances in the second period, outshooting Halifax 23 to 19 but they could only sneak one goal past Zachary Fucale.

During the third period, Nathan MacKinnon scored a fourth goal for Halifax. An empty net goal in the dying minutes of the third period sealed Baie-Comeau’s fate.

The Mooseheads weren’t the only winners of the night. Someone named Adam went home $39,000 richer after winning the 50/50 draw.