Municipal voters and politicians on the eastern side of Halifax harbour will see the biggest change now that the electoral districts have been adjusted to accommodate a smaller council.

The Nova Scotia Utility and Review Board unveiled the new districts for the Halifax Regional Municipality on Tuesday.

The board put Cole Harbour, Cherry Brook and Lake Loon together in one district — a move that should please residents who fought previous attempts to separate the communities.

As a result, the large Eastern Shore area is now divided into northern and southern districts.

Coun. Steve Streatch, who represents the area now, is disappointed. He said residents don't want a divided district.

The Halifax peninsula now has two districts instead of four, with Cornwallis Street as the dividing line.

Middle Sackville, Upper Sackville and Beaver Bank are one district, while Lower Sackville remains a single district.

In an earlier decision, the review board shrunk the number of districts from 23 to 16.

The changes must be in place for the next municipal election in October 2012.