Developer Wadih Fares is one of two Nova Scotians named to the Order of Canada. (Jean Laroche/CBC)

Rideau Hall has released the latest list of appointees to the Order of Canada, and it includes two Nova Scotians.

Author Silver Donald Cameron and developer Wadih Fares have been named members to Canada's highest honour.

Cameron is an author and columnist with deep roots on Cape Breton Island.

He said this honour is a wonderful 75th birthday present.

"It's very gratifying getting towards the end of your career to have the sense that the country thinks that you haven't entirely wasted your life," Cameron said. "It's a wonderful validation, really."

Fares came to Halifax from war-torn Lebanon in his teens with almost no money. He's now a developer whose projects include one of the newest landmarks in the city, The Trillium on South Park.

Fares has an entire wall of honours decorating his office but said being awarded the Order of Canada caught him off-guard.

"When I first learned about it I was stunned," Fares said. "I was overwhelmed."

Fares is also a strong voice in Halifax's tightly-knit Lebanese community and was a key player in convincing Prime Minister Stephen Harper to designate Pier 21 a national museum.

He said this honour is a result of hard work from his employees, his wife of 20 years, his family and his community.

"I take this on their behalf because, definitely, you don't get here by yourself. Self-made men, they don't make it on their own," Fares said.

Fares calls the honour, "A huge sign for all immigrants out there, all newcomers out there that this country truly is the country of opportunity, the country of equality."

He said the honour is a lesson for all those who give back to their community.

"Contributing to your community doesn't go unseen or unappreciated," Fares said.

The Order of Canada will be presented at a ceremony at Rideau Hall later this year.

The newest recipients are being honoured for their achievements in politics, sports, journalism, the arts, and many other fields.

Also nominated this year is former Alberta Premier Ralph Klein and former NHL player and coach Pat Quinn.