Yellowknifers choose new blood on council, familiar mayor

Early results show that Mark Heyck has won the race to become Yellowknife's 14th mayor. While Heyck is a familiar face at City Hall, voters overwhelmingly chose newcomers for the city's council.

Many new faces will head to City Hall

Mark Heyck has won the race to become Yellowknife’s 14th mayor.

Heyck, who was the city’s deputy mayor, had an early lead and never lost it.

His lead was so strong that his toughest competitor, Yellowknife businessman Tim Doyle, conceded with one poll still to report.

Mark Heyck won the mayoral race - he will now be the city's 14th mayor. (CBC)

"He picked up some great votes in some ridings that we thought we were going to get," said Doyle Monday night.

Doyle, who took a leave from his position as the executive director of the Yellowknife Chamber of Commerce to run, campaigned on improving the relationship between the business community and City Hall.

"I'm sure the Chamber will have a fantastic relationship with the city. They do work hard to maintain those relationships. We also have a brand new council that's coming in. So I think there's going to be a hefty change there," said Doyle.

Heyck said he’s happy with the results — he won 2,008 votes. Doyle got 1,465 and candidate and former city councillor Paul Falvo won 816 votes.

"I couldn’t be more proud of my campaign team and I’m really looking forward to my next three years working with council and the community," said Heyck.

Many new faces on city council

The outgoing mayor had endorsed Heyck.   While voters chose to stay the course with their pick for mayor, they overwhelmingly chose new blood for council.

There were 12 people running for eight seats on council.

Some of the youngest and untested candidates garnered the most votes. Dan Wong won the most, with 2,689 and Adrian Bell came next, with 2,531. Other newcomers to council are Niels Konge, Rebecca Alty, Linda Bussey and Phil Moon Son, who were all close behind with over 2,000 votes each.

Incumbents Bob Brooks and Cory Vanthuyne had steady numbers and will remain on council.

Former councillors Amanda Mallon and Lydia Bardak lost to the newcomers.