Voters in Kimmirut and Cape Dorset, Nunavut, are casting their ballots Monday for a new MLA, one week after most other Nunavummiut elected their representatives.

Monday's byelection was called because no one came forward as candidates in the general election, which was held Oct. 27.

Four candidates are running in the byelection: Zeke Ejesiak, Adamie Nuna and Fred Schell of Cape Dorset, and Joannie Ikkidluak of Kimmirut.

The race in South Baffin is wide open after MLA and environment minister Olayuk Akesuk decided not to seek re-election.

Nearly 25 per cent of people on the voters list in South Baffin's cast ballots in advance polls, chief electoral officer Sandy Kusugak told CBC News.

"I suspect that the general enthusiasm for the Nunavut general election really spilled over into the byelection, and people were well aware of the voting opportunities they had," she said Monday.

Polls are open in hamlet offices in Kimmirut and Cape Dorset until 8 p.m. ET.