5 incumbents out in Nunavut election

5 of 11 candidates running for re-election have lost their seats in Nunavut's territorial election, including Premier Eva Aariak.
The Nunavut legislative chambers in Iqaluit. (Nathan Denette/CP)

Only six of the 22 people who held a seat in the legislature last month are coming back. Five of 11 candidates running for re-election have lost their seats in Nunavut's territorial election. 

Premier Eva Aariak, Quttiktuq MLA Ron Elliott, Pangnirtung MLA Hezekiah Oshutapik, South Baffin MLA Fred Schell and Johnny Ningeongan, who represented the former constituency of Nanulik, have lost their seats.

Four incumbents, including cabinet ministers Monica Ell and Keith Peterson, have kept their seats. 

Lorne Kusugak, a cabinet minister who ran in Rankin Inlet South, tied for first place with Alexander Sammurtok. That triggers an automatic recount and possibly a by-election. 

There are no parties in Nunavut and every candidate runs as an independent. The successful candidates in the general election will gather during the week of Nov. 11 in a leadership forum to determine the next premier and cabinet members.

Here's a chart of who ran for re-election and what happened:

DistrictMinisterPortfolio in last governmentResult


Eva Aariak

Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs
Minister of Education
Minister of Aboriginal Affairs
Minister responsible for Immigration



Monica EllMinister of Family Services
Minister responsible for Homelessness
Minister responsible for the Qulliq Energy Corporation
Minister responsible for Status of Women
QuttiktuqRon ElliottN/Aloss
TunnuniqJoe EnookN/Awin

Rankin Inlet South

Lorne KusugakGovernment House Leader
Minister of Community and Government Services
Minister responsible for the Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission


Johnny NingeonganN/Aloss
PangnirtungHezekiah OshutapikN/Aloss
Cambridge BayKeith PetersonMinister of Finance
Minister of Health
Minister responsible for the Public Agencies Council
Hudson BayAllan RumboltN/Awin
South BaffinFred SchellN/Aloss


Peter TaptunaMinister of Economic Development and Transportation
Minister responsible for the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation
Minister responsible for the Nunavut Development Corporation
Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation
Minister responsible for Mines
Minister responsible for Energy
NetsilikJeannie UgyukN/AAcclaimed