Nunavut premier assigns cabinet portfolios

Nunavut MLAs were sworn in this morning in the chamber of the legislative assembly despite a blizzard warning, and Premier Peter Taptuna assigned portfolios to his cabinet ministers.

MLAs sworn in Tuesday morning, despite blizzard warning

Nunavut Premier-elect Peter Taptuna is sworn in as Kugluktuk MLA by Commissioner Edna Elias Tuesday at the legislative assembly. (CBC)

Nunavut's new MLAs were sworn in this morning in the chamber of the legislative assembly. 

The ceremony took place despite a blizzard warning from Environment Canada. Winds in Iqaluit were gusting to 80 km/h early this morning, with blizzard conditions expected to worsen in the day, but die down later in the evening.  

Friends and family members of the new MLAs packed the legislature as Nunavut Commissioner Edna Elias did the official swearing in. 

Premier Peter Taptuna later announced his cabinet ministers' portfolios. MLAs chose eight members to serve in the executive council Friday.

The cabinet portfolios are as follows:

Premier Peter Taptuna 

-Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs

-Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs

-Minister responsible for the Utility Rates Review Council

Deputy Premier Monica Ell

-Minister of Health

Jeannie Ugyuk

​-Government House Leader

-Minister of Family Services

-Minister responsible for Poverty Reduction

-Minister responsible for Homelessness

-Minister responsible for the Status of Women

George Kuksuk

​-Minister of Economic Development and Transportation

-Minister responsible for Mines

-Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation

Johnny Mike

-Minister of Environment

Paul Okalik

-Minister of Justice

-Minister of Culture and Heritage

-Minister of Energy

-Minister responsible for Qulliq Energy Corporation

-Minister responsible for Immigration

-Minister responsible for Labour

-Minister of Languages

-Minister responsible for the Liquor Licensing Board

Keith Peterson

-Minister of Finance

-Minister responsible for the Liquor Commission

-Minister responsible for the Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission

Paul Quassa

-Minister of Education

-Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College

Tom Sammurtok

​-Minister of Community and Government Services


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.