Robert Janes of Rankin Inlet is one of Nunavut's new mayors elected in Monday's hamlet elections.

Janes won with 319 votes. Previous Rankin Inlet mayor Puujjut Kusugak did not seek re-election.

Janes will serve as mayor for three years.   "The support I got from the community was just phenomenal," he said. "I felt real good."

Janes defeated Donna Adams who received 117 votes, and Jonah Amawak took in 93.

He said projects already started will continue, including the push for a dock, a multi-plex and an elders centre.

Councillors elected in Rankin Inlet were Gabriel Karlik, Ron Roach, Hamish Tatty and Sam Tutannuak. Swearing in of the new mayor and councillors will be Jan. 7.

Other communities in the Kivalliq also elected mayors on Monday.

In Repulse Bay, incumbent Hugh Haqpi was acclaimed for another term. In Chesterfield Inlet, Harry Aggark was elected with 55 votes out of the 117 ballots cast. In Whale Cove, seven people ran for mayor, with Stanley Adjuk Sr. winning the race. In Baker Lake, Joseph Aupaluktuq was elected mayor.

Qikiqtani results

In the Qikiqtani region, Qikiqtarjuaq elected a new mayor. Mary Killiktee defeated Allen Kooneeliusie by 79 votes, according to numbers from the Nunavut Government.

In Igloolik, Joseph Inooya was acclaimed as mayor last month after two other contenders dropped out of the race.

Laisa Ninguik is the new mayor of Grise Fiord, defeating Meeka Kiguktak by two votes. Overall 52 people cast a ballot in Nunavut’s northernmost community.

Nobody ran for mayor in December 2011, the last time there was an election in Grise Fiord, so council asked Kiguktak to hang on for another year. Six hamlet councillors were also elected on Monday.

Kitikmeot results

In the Kitikmeot, only one community held election for mayor on Monday.

In Gjoa Haven, incumbent Allen Aglukkaq will hold on to the job for another two years. He defeated four other candidates taking 91 of the 344 votes cast.

According to information from the Nunavut Government, four councillors were also elected. Four other councillors still have one year remaining in their term.