Nunavut election underway, nominations still open

The Nunavut election kicked off on Monday and while nominations haven't even closed yet, it's already clear there are some interesting races.

The nomination period opened yesterday for Nunavut's territorial election and already it's clear there will be some interesting races.

Elections Nunavut says many people have already declared their candidacy. Pangnirtung mayor Sakiasi Sowdlooapik is running for MLA in that riding. He'll be up against Hezekiah Oshutapik, who is running for re-election.

And former Premier Paul Okalik will run in the riding of Iqaluit-Sinaa. That's the riding that activist LeeseePapatsie also intends to contest.

Monica Ell is also seeking re-election, in the riding of Iqaluit-Manirajak.

In the Arviat South riding, Airo Pameolik and Peter Alareak are running.

And in Arviat North, Elizabeth Copland is on the ballot.

Copland has taken a leave from her position as chair of the Nunavut Impact Review Board, to run.

And three people have declared in Gjoa Haven - Tony Akoak, Linda Hunter and Andrew Porter.

The deadline for candidates to submit their niomination papers is Friday, at 2 p.m.


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.