Nunavut MLAs have decided to increase the number of cabinet ministers in the fourth legislative assembly.

The announcement was made in a news release Friday afternoon by Clerk of the Assembly John Quirke.

The new cabinet will consist of eight ministers plus the premier, an increase of one minister from the last assembly. The number of MLAs in this legislative assembly increased from 19 to 22.

The ministers, premier and speaker will be elected by MLAs at a leadership forum in Iqaluit on Nov. 15. The premier assigns portfolios to the ministers.

The forum will be broadcast live in Nunavut on the assembly's cable TV channel.

Members will be officially sworn in on the morning of Nov. 19, and the fourth legislative assembly will begin with a session starting that afternoon.