Nominations close in Yukon municipal elections

There are five candidates for mayor of Whitehorse, while the mayors of Carmacks and Mayo have been acclaimed to another term.

Five candidates for Whitehorse mayor; two Yukon mayors acclaimed

Whitehorse candidates for mayor

Dan Curtis

Scott Howell

Rick Karp

Bernie Phillips

Mandeep Singh Sidhu

Candidates for council

Dave Austin

Pat Berrel

Jean-Sebastien Blais

Garth Brown

Kirk Cameron

Randy Collins

Jocelyn (Joy) Curteanu

Al Fedoriak

Helen Geisler

Mike Gladish

Betty Irwin

Leona Kains

Michael Kokiw

Cam Kos

Julie Menard

Sharon Shorty

Patrick Singh

Dave Stockdale

John Streicker

Conrad Tiedeman

Mike Tribes

Roslyn Woodcock

Municipal council positions are being hotly contested in most Yukon communities in the Oct. 18 elections.

In Whitehorse, five candidates are running for mayor and 22 for the six-member city council. Nominations closed at noon Thursday. The current mayor and two incumbent councillors are not seeking re-election.

In Dawson City, Mayor Peter Jenkins, who had earlier indicated he would not run for another term, is in the race after all. He is running against Wayne Potoroka.

Jenkins said there are too many outstanding issues for him to step aside now.

"All of those areas have very serious consequences for the city and the city is just getting its head out bankruptcy from a number of years ago." Jenkins said.

In Haines Junction, incumbent Mayor George Nassiopoulos is being challenged by Martin Eckervogt and John Farynowski. Farynowski said a recent debate over the future of the garbage dump exposed some basic problems with the current council.

"The biggest problem was there was really no public meetings to consult with the people in the town," he said.

Incumbent mayors Elaine Wyatt in Carmacks and Scott Bolton in Mayo have been acclaimed.