Noah Papatsie has been elected to Iqaluit city council, defeating Stephen Mansell by 20 votes.

Papatsie received 384 votes to Mansell's 364.

The municipal byelection was held to fill a seat left vacant when councillor Jimmy Kilabuk died earlier this year.

Lewis MacKay finished third with 250 votes, and Douglas Cox finished fourth with 243.

Papatsie ran for mayor in last year's Iqaluit municipal election, losing to John Graham.

Luc Brisebois and Michel Potvin were elected to the Commission scolaire francophone du Nunavut, and Catherine Hoyt and Jamessee Moulton were elected to the Iqaluit District Education Authority.