There will be plenty of new faces around the table for the next Nunavut government cabinet, after three of five ministers up for re-election were defeated Monday.

Premier Paul Okalik and Finance Minister Louis Tapardjuk were returned to the legislative assembly, but won't have much company from the previous eight-member executive council.

Levi Barnabas was defeated in Quttiktuq, Levinia Brown lost her race in the Rankin Inlet South-Whale Cove constituency and Patterk Netser was not returned in Nanulik.

Three other ministers decided not to run this time around.

Health Minister Leona Aglukkaq resigned in early September to run in the federal election. She was elected as the Conservative member of Parliament for the Nunavut riding.

Ed Picco, the popular government house leader, stepped down last month after 13 years in politics, making way for a new representative in Iqaluit East.

Environment Minister Olayuk Akesuk, the two-term member of the legislative assembly for South Baffin, announced his political retirement the day before the legislative session ended. No contenders came forward in South Baffin before the candidacy deadline, so a byelection will be held there on Nov. 3.

Here is how the five cabinet ministers who ran for re-election fared:

  • Levi Barnabas — Minister of human resources; minister responsible for the Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission.DEFEATED
  • Levinia Brown — Deputy premier; community and government services minister; minister responsible for the status of women. DEFEATED
  • Patterk Nester — Economic development and transportation minister; minister responsible for mines; minister responsible for the Nunavut Development Corporation; minister responsible for the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation; minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation. DEFEATED
  • Louis Tapardjuk — Finance minister and chair of the Financial Management Board; minister of culture, language, elders and youth; minister responsible for the Nunavut Liquor Commission; minister responsible for the Crown Agency Council; minister responsible for Sport Nunavut. RE-ELECTED
  • Paul Okalik — Premier; justice minister; minister of executive and intergovernmental affairs; minister responsible for aboriginal affairs; minister responsible for the Utility Rates Council; minister responsible for the Labour Standards Board; minister responsible for the Human Rights Tribunal; minister responsible for the Liquor Licensing Board. RE-ELECTED

The new premier and cabinet will be chosen by the MLAs at a leadership forum that should take place in two to three weeks.