Jackie Jacobson, the former MLA for Nunakput, is one of five people vying for the seat of departing Inuvialuit Regional Corporation chairperson Nellie Cournoyea.

Nominations closed Thursday evening.

"It's official: today I put my name forward as a candidate for the IRC chairperson!" Jacobson wrote on Facebook shortly after the nomination window closed.

"I look forward to seeing everyone on the community tour and working together for a better future for our Inuvialuit people."

Jacobson was defeated in November's territorial election by a narrow margin by Herb Nakimayak following a judicial recount.

The other four candidates are:

  • Vernon-Blaine Amos 
  • Richard McLeod
  • Duane Smith
  • Vince Teddy

The election will take place Jan. 25. According to the corporation, "Each director of the six Inuvialuit community corporations is entitled to vote in this election."

The term of chairperson lasts for three years.

Cournoyea served nine consecutive terms.