Members of the Salt River First Nation in Fort Smith, N.W.T., have once again elected Frieda Martselos as their chief.

The band has been plagued by political turmoil over the past few years. Martselos replaces David Poitras, who resigned in February after an internal dispute over his leadership. She won against candidates Brad Laviolette, Warren Gagnon and Henry Beaver Jr.


The Salt River First Nation has gone back and forth between leaders David Poitras and Frieda Martselos for the past few years. (CBC)

Martselos has had a tumultuous role as leader of the First Nation; she was fired from her position as chief in 2007, but re-instated in 2008 after a federal court ruling. Those results were overturned after an arbitrator ruled Martselos used smear tactics against her challenger — David Poitras — and his supporters during the campaign.

She was re-elected again in 2009. In 2011, Martselos stepped down as chief.

A councillor was also elected today in a by-election. Don Matthews Jr. replaces Olga Mansbridge, who died suddenly in January.