David Omilgoitok is the new chair of Nunavut's public energy utility, Qulliq Energy Corporation. (FILE PHOTO)

The minister responsible for the Qulliq Energy Corporation, Paul Okalik, has announced five new appointments to the public energy utility’s board.

They are:

  • David Omilgoitok, chair
  • Elijah Evaluardjuk
  • Julie-Anne Miller
  • Joshua Arreak
  • Roy Mullins

“I asked my colleagues to look for names that are capable and can handle the duties of the board,” Okalik said.

“Fortunately my colleagues were able to submit names that are very qualified for the duties that are called upon and I look forward to working with the new board and look forward to more that will be forthcoming in due course.”

David Omilgoitok spent many years working in government, holding posts such as secretary to cabinet and deputy minister of intergovernmental affairs. In 2012, he became president and CEO of Kitikmeot Corporation.

In early January, five out of the six QEC Board members resigned, including the chair, Simon Merkosak.

In a letter that was made public, Merkosak said the board members quit out of frustration and concern over lack of consultation with the board by the Nunavut Government.

Under the Qulliq Corporation Act, the board must have between six and 10 members.

George Hickes Sr. will remain as a director. He was the only board member not to resign earlier this month.

A public call for nominations will be issued immediately to fill the remaining four board seats.