Darrel Nasogaluak elected mayor of Tuktoyaktuk, N.W.T.

Nine N.W.T. communities held municipal elections Monday night.

Nasogaluak defeats 3-term incumbent Merven Gruben

Tuktoyaktuk mayor-elect Darrel Nasogaluak says he will focus on preparing for the all-weather road between Tuktoyaktuk and Inuvik, now under construction, as well as shoreline erosion and youth.

Darrel Nasogaluak was elected mayor of Tuktoyaktuk, N.W.T., Monday night, defeating three-term incumbent Merven Gruben.

Nasogaluak, who has served two terms as deputy mayor, won over Gruben by 115 votes.

This isn't the first time the two have run against each other. Gruben won his third term in the 2011 election by 11 votes. 

Nasogaluak says people voted him in this time because they're ready for a change.

"Change is good sometimes," he said. "A lot of people expected Mayor Gruben to be in the community more, I know he was busy on the outside of the community, also working for the community outside the community, but he spent a lot of time away from town over the last two years."

Nasogaluak said he will focus on shoreline erosion, youth and preparing for the all-weather road between Tuktoyaktuk and Inuvik. 

He will be sworn in as mayor in January. 

Other results

Charlie Furlong is now the mayor of Aklavik. He received 217 votes; Arnulf Steinwand got 65 votes.

In Enterprise, John Leskiw II won with 31 votes over incumbent Michael St. Amour.

And in Fort Resolution, Garry Bailey remains mayor. He defeated Louis Balsillie by 25 votes. 



Charles Furlong - 217

Arnulf Steinwand - 65

Councillors elected:

Edwin Greenland

Dave McLeod

Bobbie Jo Greenland Morgan

William Storr

DEA councillors elected:

Billy Archie

Gladys Edwards

Dorothy Erigaktoak

Kathy Greenland

Tanya Kogiak

Mary Ruth Meyook

Evelyn Wilson



John Leskiw II -- 31

Michael St. Amour - 17

councillors elected:

Chaal Cadieux

​John Leskiw III

Craig McMaster

Fort Liard

councillors elected:

Joanne Deneron

Kathie Hardisty

Barbara McLeod

Ernest McLeod

Irene McLeod

Ken Nowoselski

Fort McPherson


Vasilios Bill Prodromidis - 101

Ruby Koe - 59

John Itsi - 55

councillors elected:

Leslie P. Blake

David Cook

Mary Rose Tetlichi

​Abraham Wilson

Fort Providence

Councillors elected:

Evelyn Krutko

​Jonas Landry

Violet Landry

Pearl Leishman

​DEA councillors elected:

Cindi Bonnetrouge

Shirley Gargan

​Violet Landry

Albertine Nadli

Hilda Sabourin

​Fort Resolution


Garry Bailey - 117

Louis Balsillie - 92

Councillors elected:

Dawna Beaulieu

Frank Fabien

​Angela McKay

Patrick Simon


councillors elected:

Tony Green

Sadie Lester

Albert Ruben Sr.

Millie Thrasher

Sachs Harbour

Councillors elected:

Vernon Amos

Angella Keogak

Martha Kudlak

Lena Wolki



Darrel Nasogaluak - 234

Merven Gruben - 119


​councillors elected:

David Kuptana

Sarah Kuptana

​Laverna Klengenberg


To encourage thoughtful and respectful conversations, first and last names will appear with each submission to CBC/Radio-Canada's online communities (except in children and youth-oriented communities). Pseudonyms will no longer be permitted.

By submitting a comment, you accept that CBC has the right to reproduce and publish that comment in whole or in part, in any manner CBC chooses. Please note that CBC does not endorse the opinions expressed in comments. Comments on this story are moderated according to our Submission Guidelines. Comments are welcome while open. We reserve the right to close comments at any time.