Elections Nunavut has announced that 27 people are barred from running in the upcoming territorial election because as candidates in the last election they failed to file a financial return or they filed it late.

The disqualification period started then and continues for five years.

The list includes three former Nunavut cabinet ministers: Lavinia Brown of Rankin Inlet, Donald Havioyak of Kugluktuk and Peter Kattuk of Sanikiluaq.

All three are barred from being a candidate until the end of December.

Former regular MLA Ovide Alakannuark is also on the list. He's barred from running until May 2014.

The next Nunavut territorial election is on Oct. 28.